Upcoming Events


11:30 am – 1:00 pm, Alexandria Chamber of Commerce 2017 Annual Valor Awards at the Crowne Plaza, 901 N. Fairfax Street, Alexandria. Join the Chamber at our 31st annual Valor Awards as we salute the brave women and men of our Police and Fire Departments, and Sheriff's Office, who showed exceptional poise and courage in extraordinary circumstances in 2016. Our award winners are the personification of the word hero.


6:30 – 9:00 pm,  DemBiz - Politics & Policy: The Two Chiefs at the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Building, 4301 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington. DemBiz is proud to host an interactive evening of politics and policy questions and answers with Mike Harney and Mike Henry, the Chiefs of Staff for Virginia’s two Democratic U.S. Senators Mark Warner and Tim Kaine. DemBiz Vice-Chair Larry Roberts will be the moderator.


Meeting will be held at the ADC Headquarters, 618 N. Washington St., Alexandria. The ADC Progressive Caucus’s purpose and function is to amplify the issues and concerns of progressives in Alexandria. We seek to influence elected officials that will listen, primarily in the Democratic party, at the local, state, and federal levels to ensure that our diverse issues are represented. We find and support candidates who represent and embody true progressive ideals.


Thursday, April 27 from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the RPCA Park Operation Meeting Room, 2900 Business Center Dr. The purpose of this meeting is to present preliminary feedback received from public engagement sessions, inform the community and various stakeholders with how feedback received is incorporated into options, and receive comment on preliminary options developed. Parking is available at Witter Fields, 2700 Witter Dr. 


6:00 pm, Scholarship Fund of Alexandria Gala 2017 at the Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 5000 Seminary Road Alexandria, Scholarship Fund awards scholarships strictly for graduates of T.C. Williams High School, the City of Alexandria’s only public high school. In 2015, the Scholarship Fund awarded $944,000 in new and renewal scholarships to 332 T.C. graduates.

2017 ADC Straw Poll Results

136 - Ralph Northam
76 - Tom Perriello

Lt. Governor
135 - Justin Fairfax
32 - Susan Platt
52 - Gene Rossi

Click here to view photos from the event. Thanks everyone for the great turnout!

Have an event for our calendar?
Click here to submit it.

Submissions for the Thursday email are due by 5 PM on Wednesday.

Like Us On Facebook